Personnel

Director

Professor Chul B. Park, PhD, P.Eng., FRSC, FCAE, FKAST, FNAEK, FAAAS, FASME, FCSME, FEIC, FSPE
University of Toronto Distinguished Professor of Microcellular Engineered Plastics
NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Multi-Functional Graphene-Based Polymer Nanocomposites and Foams
Office location: RS210A, Rosebrugh Building
Email: park@mie.utoronto.ca
Phone: (416) 978 3053
Fax: (416) 978 0947

Co-director

Professor Patrick C. Lee, PhD
University of Toronto Director of Multifunctional Composites Manufacturing Laboratory (MCML)
Office location: MC311, Mechanical Engineering Building
Email: patricklee@mie.utoronto.ca
Phone: (416) 946 5407
Fax: (416) 978 0947

Postdoctoral Fellows


Dr. Byung Gwan Hyun
bghyun@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Conductive Polymer Composites and Their Applications

Dr. Eun Yeop Choi
eychoi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Fabrication of Functional Polymer Composites Containing Nanocarbon Materials

Dr. Jinchuan Zhao
jzhao@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Fabrication of Microporous Membranes
Dr. Jing Liu
jliu@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Heat Transport in Thermal Insulation Foams
Dr. Mahdi Hamidinejad
hamidi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Conductive Polymer Foam Composites
Dr. Mu Sung (Matt) Kweon
mkweon@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Crystallization and Foaming Studies under High Gas/Supercritical Fluid Pressures and Temperatures
Dr. Sasan Rezaei
srezaei@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Synthesis and Development of New Generation of Precursors for Flexible and Multi-functional Aerogel
Dr. Solmaz Karamikamkar
solmazkk@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Design and Optimization of Flexible Multifunctional Porous Electrospun Aerogel Fiber – Advanced Functional Materials

Dr. Yifeng Huang
yhuang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Functional Porous Plastic Foam for Water Remediation
Dr. Yongna Qiao
ynqiao@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: In-situ Studies of Polymer Crystallization and Foaming Behaviors

PhD & MASc Students

Abdullah Al Faysal
MASc Student
faysal@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research:Electrical Properties of Multi-layered Films
Ali Reza Monfared
PhD Student
monfared@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210E
Research: Polymer Fibrillation Processing

Andrew Anstey
PhD Student*
aanstey@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Nanofibrillated polymer systems for biomedical applications
Aniss Zaoui
PhD Student
azaoui@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: MB68
Research: Preparation of Ceramic/nanofiber based composites
Azadeh Zandieh
PhD Student
azandieh@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Thermally Conductive Polymer Nanocomposites
Caiyun Liang
Visiting PhD Student
cliang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Conductive Polymer Nanocomposites
Chongda Wang
PhD Student
cwang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Simulation and Visualization of Foam Injection Molding
Chongxiang Zhao
PhD Student*
zhaocx@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Fundamental Studies on Rebouncing Properties of Elastomer Foams
Eunse Chang
PhD Student*
eunse@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Foam Injection Molding for Ultra-Lightweight/High-Impact Parts
Hamidreza Akrami
PhD Student*
akrami@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Polymer Fibrillation Processing
Haiyan Yu
Visiting PhD Student
haiyanyu@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Effect of GnPs Exfoliation on Thermal Radiation in Polymer Foams
Jung-Hyub Lee
PhD Student
leejung@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Effect of Rigid Amorphous Fraction on the Solubility of Physical Blowing Agent in Semi-Crystalline Polymers
Li Ma
PhD Student
lima@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Foaming Ability of Poly(Vinylidene Fluoride) (PVDF)
Linfeng Wei
Visiting PhD Student
linfeng@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: MB68
Research: Conductive Polymer Composites
Li Peixuan
MASc Student
lipeipei@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: MB68
Research: Fabrication of in-situ Nanofibrillated Polymers/ Composites with Spunbond Technology
Lun Howe Mark
PhD Student
lhmark@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) Foam Injection Molding with Gas-Assisted Technology
Mahdi Zeidi
PhD Student
mzeidi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: MB68
Research: Multiscale Modeling of Polymer Composite
Mahmoud Embabi
MASc Student
embabi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Co-extrusion of Micro/nano-Layered and Nano-Fibrillated Foams
Maryam Fashandi
PhD Student
fashandi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Aerogels
Mayesha Binte Mahmud
PhD Student*
mayesha@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Structure-Property Relationship of Injection Molded Polypropylene Foam
Menglong Xu
Visiting PhD Student
menglong@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: MB68
Research: Topological Design and Microcellular Moulding Process for Melt-foamable Polyamide 6 based on the Foaming Mechanism
Meysam Salari
PhD Student
msalari@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Conductive Polymers, Microcellular Composites
Omid Aghababaei Tafreshi
PhD Student
tafreshi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research:Manufacturing and Characterization of the PMMA/nanofibril-rubber Composites
Piyapong Buahom
PhD Student
piyapong@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Cellular Structure Characterization and Thermal Transport in Insulation Foams
Qi Qing
Visiting PhD Student
qi.qing@mail.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research:Conductive and Dielectric Polymer Composites and Their Applications
Sai Wang
PhD Student
swang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Thermally Conductive, but Electrically Insulating Polymer Composites
Sandra Romero Diez
PhD Student*
sromerod@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Gas Saturated Polymer System Property: Crystal and Cell
Nucleation/Growth Theory and Visualization
Sara Mohseni Taromsari
PhD Student*
smohseni@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: MC414
Research:Bio-based Membranes incorporating GnP for Environmental Applications

Shahab Amirabadi
PhD Student*
shahabam@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Foaming Behavior of Nanofibril Composites with Fire Retarding Application
Sundong Kim
PhD Student
ericskim@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Smart Micro-/Nano-fibers for Lightweight and Stronger Composite Structures
Zeineb Ben Rejeb
PhD Student
zbrejeb@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: MB68
Research:Aerogels
Zuolong Chen
PhD Student*
zchen@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research:Micro/Nano-multilayer foam/film

Staffs


Kara Kim
Assistant Director
kara@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210

Joe Daoud
Lab Supervisor
daoudj@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206

* co-supervision

Last update: February 10, 2020