Director

Professor Chul B. Park, PhD, P.Eng., FRSC, FCAE, FKAST, FNAEK, FAAAS, FASME, FCSME, FEIC, FSPE
University of Toronto Distinguished Professor of Microcellular Engineered Plastics
NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Multi-Functional Graphene-Based Polymer Nanocomposites and Foams
Office location: RS210A
Email: park@mie.utoronto.ca
Phone: (416) 978 3053
Fax: (416) 978 0947

 

Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr. Abdelnasser Abidli
anasser@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210E
Research: Materials Development and Surface Chemistry for Environmental Protection and Pollution Management
Dr. Ali Zolali
azolali@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Rubber Toughening of Polymeric Systems Through Control of Interface and Microstructure

Dr. Amirjalal Jalali
ajjalali@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Crystallization and foaming of fibrillated polymer composites

Dr. Biao Zhao
bzhao@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Conductive Polymer Foam and Electromagnetic Properties of Inorganic/Polymer Composite

Dr. Byung Gwan Hyun
bghyun@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Conductive Polymer Composites and Their Applications

Dr. Iman Soltani
isoltani@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Microfiber and Nanofiber (Fiber-in-Fiber) Melt Spinning and Foaming

Dr. Jiushuai Deng
jsdeng@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Mineral Processing and Conductive Polymer Foam Composites

Dr. Jun Wang
junwangc@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Conductive Polymer Composites
Mohammed Alshrah
malshrah@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Super-Insulation Aerogels

Dr. Mohammad Asgari
masgari@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210E
Research: Polymer Nanofibrillation Processing

Dr. Raziyeh Mohammadi
srm@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Enhancement of Melt Strength and Foamability of Polymers

Dr. Ruosong Li
rli@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Properties of Polymer/CO2 System and Polymeric Foams

Dr. Vahid Shaayegan
vahidsh@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Cellular Structure Development in Foam Injection Molding; Processing-structure and Structure-properties relationships

Dr. Yifeng Huang
yhuang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Functional Porous Plastic Foam for Water Remediation

Dr. Yun-Seok Jun
ysjun@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Conductive Polymer Composites

PhD & MASc Students


Andrew Anstey
PhD Student
aanstey@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Nanofibrillated polymer systems for biomedical applications
Abu Naser Md Shahin
MASc Student
shahin@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Nanofibrillation of Polymer Composites through Modified Melblown and Spunbond Technology
Azadeh Zandieh
PhD Student
azandieh@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Thermally Conductive Polymer Nanocomposites
Chongda Wang
PhD Student
cwang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Simulation and Visualization of Foam Injection Molding
Chongxiang Zhao
PhD Student
zhaocx@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Fundamental Studies on Rebouncing Properties of Elastomer Foams
Eunse Chang
PhD Student
eunse@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Foam Injection Molding for Ultra-Lightweight/High-Impact Parts
Hamidreza Akrami
PhD Student
akrami@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Polymer Fibrillation Processing
Jung-Hyub Lee
PhD Student
leejung@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Effect of Rigid Amorphous Fraction on the Solubility of Physical Blowing Agent in Semi-Crystalline Polymers
Jung-Hyun Kim
MASc Student
jhkim@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Open-Cell Cushion-Material Development with Nano-Fibril Containing Thermoplastic Elastomer
Lun Howe Mark
PhD Student
lhmark@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) Foam Injection Molding with Gas-Assisted Technology
Mahdi Hamidinejad
PhD Student
hamidi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Conductive Polymer Foam Composites
Maryam Fashandi
PhD Student
fashandi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Aerogels
Mayesha Binte Mahmud
PhD Student
mayesha@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Structure-Property Relationship of Injection Molded Polypropylene Foam
Pavani Cherukupally
PhD Student
pavanic@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Process and System Design for Oil Sands Tailings Water Treatment

 

Piyapong Buahom
PhD Student
piyapong@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Foam Structure Characterization and Thermal Transport in Insulation Foams
Qi Qing
Visiting PhD Student
qi.qing@mail.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research:Conductive and Dielectric Polymer Composites and Their Applications
Rui Jiang
Visiting PhD Student
ruijiang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: In-situ fibrillation of elastomers in plastics
Saeid Rahimi-Razin
PhD Student
srahimi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research:Fibrilated multilayer foams
Sai Wang
PhD Student
swang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Thermally Conductive, but Electrically Insulating Polymer Composites
Sandra Romero Diez
PhD Student
sromerod@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Gas Saturated Polymer System Property: Crystal and Cell
Nucleation/Growth Theory and Visualization
Sasan Rezaei
PhD Student
srezaei@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Nanotemplate-Based Foaming

Shuolun Zhang
PhD Student
zsl@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Thermoplastic Olefin (TPO) In-situ Fibrillation
Solmaz Karamikamkar
PhD Student
solmazkk@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Polymer Nanocomposites
Sundong Kim
PhD Student
ericskim@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Smart Micro-/Nano-fibers For Lightweight and Stronger Composite Structures

MEng Students

Li Ma
MEng Student
ryner.ma@mail.utoronto.ca
Research: Foam Injection Molding of PMMA

Visiting Professors

Prof. Jinian Yang
Visiting Professor
jinian@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Structure-Property Relationships on the Polymer Foams and the Composites

Staffs


Kara Kim
Assistant Director
kara@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210

Joe Daoud
Lab Supervisor
daoudj@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206

Last update: September 14, 2018