Director

Professor Chul B. Park, PhD, P.Eng., FRSC, FCAE, FKAST, FNAEK, FAAAS, FASME, FCSME, FEIC, FSPE
University of Toronto Distinguished Professor of Microcellular Engineered Plastics
NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Multi-Functional Graphene-Based Polymer Nanocomposites and Foams
Office location: RS210A, Rosebrugh Building
Email: park@mie.utoronto.ca
Phone: (416) 978 3053
Fax: (416) 978 0947

 

Co-director

Professor Patrick C. Lee, PhD
University of Toronto Director of Multifunctional Composites Manufacturing Laboratory (MCML)
Office location: MC311, Mechanical Engineering Building
Email: patricklee@mie.utoronto.ca
Phone: (416) 946 5407
Fax: (416) 978 0947

 

Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr. Abdelnasser Abidli
anasser@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210E
Research: Materials Development and Surface Chemistry for Environmental Protection and Pollution Management
Dr. Ali Zolali
azolali@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Rubber Toughening of Polymeric Systems Through Control of Interface and Microstructure

Dr. Amirjalal Jalali
ajjalali@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Crystallization and foaming of fibrillated polymer composites

Dr. Byung Gwan Hyun
bghyun@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Conductive Polymer Composites and Their Applications

Dr. Iman Soltani
isoltani@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Microfiber and Nanofiber (Fiber-in-Fiber) Melt Spinning and Foaming

Dr. Jiushuai Deng
jsdeng@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Mineral Processing and Conductive Polymer Foam Composites

Dr. Jinchuan Zhao
jzhao@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Fabrication of Microporous Membranes

Dr. Jun Wang
junwangc@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Conductive Polymer Composites
Dr. Mahdi Hamidinejad
hamidi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Conductive Polymer Foam Composites
Dr. Sanjit Saha
sanjit@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Dielectric and EMI Shielding Properties of Polymer Composite
Dr. Mu Sung (Matt) Kweon
mkweon@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Crystallization and Foaming Studies under High Gas/Supercritical Fluid Pressures and Temperatures

Dr. Vahid Shaayegan
vahidsh@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Cellular Structure Development in Foam Injection Molding; Processing-structure and Structure-properties relationships

Dr. Yifeng Huang
yhuang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Functional Porous Plastic Foam for Water Remediation

Dr. Yun-Seok Jun
ysjun@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Conductive Polymer Composites

PhD & MASc Students


Andrew Anstey
PhD Student*
aanstey@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Nanofibrillated polymer systems for biomedical applications
Abu Naser Md Shahin
MASc Student
shahin@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Nanofibrillation of Polymer Composites through Modified Melblown and Spunbond Technology
Azadeh Zandieh
PhD Student
azandieh@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Thermally Conductive Polymer Nanocomposites
Caiyun Liang
Visiting PhD Student
cliang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Conductive Polymer Nanocomposites
Chongda Wang
PhD Student
cwang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Simulation and Visualization of Foam Injection Molding
Chongxiang Zhao
PhD Student*
zhaocx@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Fundamental Studies on Rebouncing Properties of Elastomer Foams
Eunse Chang
PhD Student*
eunse@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Foam Injection Molding for Ultra-Lightweight/High-Impact Parts
Hamidreza Akrami
PhD Student*
akrami@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Polymer Fibrillation Processing
Haiyan Yu
Visiting PhD Student
haiyanyu@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Effect of GnPs Exfoliation on Thermal Radiation in Polymer Foams
Jung-Hyub Lee
PhD Student
leejung@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Effect of Rigid Amorphous Fraction on the Solubility of Physical Blowing Agent in Semi-Crystalline Polymers
Jung-Hyun Kim
PhD Student*
jhkim@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Open-Cell Cushion-Material Development with Nano-Fibril Containing Thermoplastic Elastomer
Li Ma
PhD Student
lima@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS209
Research: Foaming Ability of Poly(Vinylidene Fluoride) (PVDF)
Lun Howe Mark
PhD Student
lhmark@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) Foam Injection Molding with Gas-Assisted Technology
Mahmoud Embabi
MASc Student
embabi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Co-extrusion of Micro/nano-Layered and Nano-Fibrillated Foams
Maryam Fashandi
PhD Student
fashandi@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Aerogels
Mayesha Binte Mahmud
PhD Student*
mayesha@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Structure-Property Relationship of Injection Molded Polypropylene Foam

 

Piyapong Buahom
PhD Student
piyapong@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Cellular Structure Characterization and Thermal Transport in Insulation Foams
Qi Qing
Visiting PhD Student
qi.qing@mail.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research:Conductive and Dielectric Polymer Composites and Their Applications
Rui Jiang
Visiting PhD Student*
ruijiang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: In-situ fibrillation of elastomers in plastics
Sai Wang
PhD Student
swang@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS316
Research: Thermally Conductive, but Electrically Insulating Polymer Composites
Sandra Romero Diez
PhD Student*
sromerod@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research: Gas Saturated Polymer System Property: Crystal and Cell
Nucleation/Growth Theory and Visualization
Sasan Rezaei
PhD Student
srezaei@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS104
Research: Nanotemplate-Based Foaming

Shahab Amirabadi
PhD Student*
shahabam@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Foaming Behavior of Nanofibril Composites with Fire Retarding Application
Solmaz Karamikamkar
PhD Student
solmazkk@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210D
Research: Polymer Nanocomposites
Sundong Kim
PhD Student
ericskim@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS204
Research: Smart Micro-/Nano-fibers for Lightweight and Stronger Composite Structures
Zuolong Chen
PhD Student*
zchen@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206
Research:Micro/Nano-multilayer foam/film

Staffs


Kara Kim
Assistant Director
kara@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS210

Joe Daoud
Lab Supervisor
daoudj@mie.utoronto.ca
Office: RS206

 

* co-supervision

 

Last update: July 12, 2019